Texas Real Estate License Requirements: What You Need to Know in the Lone Star State
To sell real estate in the state of Texas, you have to have a real estate license. Although you can work in the office of a real estate agent while you are completing your education and then your exams, you are not an actual agent until you have earned your license. There are a number of requirements that you must fulfill while working toward that goal.
Age and Residency Requirements of the Texas Real Estate License
To be eligible for a Texas real estate license, you must be at least 18 years of age. You must also be a citizen of the United States or be a legally admitted alien with documentation. You must also be a legal resident of the state of Texas at the time of your application for consideration.
Most states have the same or similar restrictions for who can apply for real estate licenses.
Requirements for Training and Education
Each person who is interested in obtaining a Texas real estate license must first take and pass several courses pertaining to the real estate industry. A score of at least 70 percent is required for each of the courses. Required courses include Texas Principles of Real Estate, I and II, which is a total of 60 hours. In addition, the Texas Law of Agency (30 hours), Texas Law of Contracts (30 hours) and one more core real estate course will be required for a total of 150 hours of course work. At this point, you are eligible to apply for the real estate license exam, however, you must complete an additional 60 hours of courses before the actual exam takes place.
The Examination Process
To obtain a Texas real estate license
, you must take and pass the real estate licensing exam with a score of 70% or higher. The exam is separated into two portions, the national portion, which consists of 80 multiple choice questions, and the state portion, which consists of 30 multiple choice questions. There is a time limit for each of these portions: 105 minutes for the national and 45 minutes for the state. In addition, there is a fee that must be paid to take the exam itself.
After Passing the Exam
Once you have taken and passed the Texas real estate licensing exam, you are required to take an additional 60 hours of core real estate courses during your first year to be eligible for license renewal. In addition, there are requirements for continuing education courses that must be completed to keep your real estate license valid in the state of Texas. In addition, there are more requirements for those who want to become a real estate broker in Texas.
Labels: Texas Real Estate, Texas Real Estate License, Texas Real Estate License Requirements